1. 為何選擇微型森林?

MicroForests 微型森林與其他本地同類的公司截然不同,因為我們是當中第一間的社會企業。我們的對像是留在家中照顧子女的主婦媽媽,透過教授微型森林技術,學習做微型森林藝術作品,從而提升她們自信,是我們的使命。我們亦嘗試縮小社會階層的差距,因此也賦權予一群面對日常社會不公平事的基層媽媽。

除了一起支持我們的社會責任,支持基層婦女外,微型森林亦是新世代集環保及美學於一身的工藝品!我們採用從外國進口的植物,設計靈感來日本草月流花藝學校,所有作品全人手製作,獨一無二。

 

2.我多久要為微型森林澆水?

開放式:開放式適合各園藝愛好者!澆水需視乎天氣和濕度,建議多觀察植物。用指頭觸摸,如植物不再濕潤則需朝植物根部及表面澆水。秋冬季節及擺放户外地方的話,宜常觀察以調整澆水程度。

密閉式:基本上不需要澆水。它是一個自我生態系統,請放置在有充足光線的地方,透過光合作用,植物會自行製造養份維持生命。 但要留意一些特別的密閉式微型森林,如M13、M14、 LED系列,水份會較容易流失,注意多觀察植物濕潤程度以調整澆水。

3.誰主持工作坊?

我們會視乎工作坊主題,團體訓練工作坊一概會由專業的團體訓練師負責,而微型森林媽媽設計師們會參與工作坊導師和後勤等工作。她們全都是我們「生命轉化計劃」中的畢業生,並且是認可的微型盆栽設計師!參與我們的工作坊,便能和我們一起感受我們在努力實踐我們的使命!

 

4. 會否殺死微型森林中的植物?

哈哈,是不是常擔心自己會成為植物殺手呢!但不論是你的設計,還是由我們的媽媽設計師所做的,我們已為大家選擇適合的植物作材料!利用正確的方法處理植物和小青苔,便能制作出容易打理的微型森林。然而,植物亦有生命週期,花開花落、生生不息,我們希望透過和植物的結連與互動,著重的是過程中帶動的反思與成長。

 

5. 我的微型森林會惹來蒼蠅和蚊子嗎?

我們的微型森林底部以沙子吸收水分,它們會慢慢䆁放水份,供植物吸收。除非你的「微型森林」轉化成「微型沼澤」,否則不會造成蒼蠅、蚊子的問題。

6. 我的微型森林藝術品裡有一點小果蠅!我該怎麼辦?

看來這個果蠅好可能是來自荷蘭的小移民,因為我們的植物都是從那裡進口的!由於我們所有的植物都是有機和無農藥的,所以會存在一點機會,植物藏有一些果蠅卵。但它們不會影響你的植物,只需打開你的容器蓋子,讓它們飛出來在香港旅遊吧。

7. 我的植物看起來要霉謝了。這是正常嗎?

如果植物顏色轉黑,這意味著它的內部太濕了。你需要打開容器讓它通風。如情況持續,甚至出現霉謝,要明白所有植物均有生命週期,花開花落,枯落的植物會滋養微型森林。

8. 我的植物正在發霉。我該怎麼辦?

如果植物發霉,這是罕見的事!因為只有2%的進口植物蘊藏該類型的細菌。然而,就算只有些微機會,它仍有可能發生,因為我們所有的植物都是有機和無農藥。如問題嚴重,請拍照並發送給hello@microforests.com或Whatsapp到5543-2568進行進一步檢查。

9. 我看到有水點在容器中。我該怎麼辦?

這正正標誌你的藝術品正處在一個生態系統中。每個封閉系統的藝術品都像我們的地球,它裡頭要維持一定水分。植物具有其光合作用的周期並釋放氧氣,當中經冷凝作用後會轉化為植物的水源。 如果你想欣賞藝術品,你可以隨時打開容器,用一點點的紙巾或毛巾擦去水滴。

10. 植物看來正在從我的容器里冒出來。我該怎麼辦?

恭喜你,你照顧得它們很好,他們正在成長快要衝出他們的家呢!雖然聽起來有點殘忍,但你是可以修剪植物。但如果你喜歡這樣子,就仍舊吧,它們不會影響生長或植物的健康。

 

11. 我在市場看到一些小烏龜,我可以放一隻進去,把微型森林打造成烏龜的小天地嗎?

雖然這是個很可愛的主意,但我們並不建議。我們曾嘗試這個做法,但微型森林會在一週內成為了小烏龜的食糧!如果你想為它打造成一個家給小動物,我們建議可以小装飾代替,像一些小動物造型的小飾物。

 

12. 我將離開一段時間,這會令植物枯乾嗎?

微型森林只需要每週澆水一次。如果你離開一段長時間,我們會建議先給它澆水,然後以保鮮膜覆蓋玻璃瓶頂部。這將創建一個「封閉式的生態系統」,水份會留在微型森林中而不會蒸發。

 

13. 工作坊可否在不同的地點舉行?

工作坊地點會視乎主題,我們的團隊可以到不同的地方舉行的工作坊。我們可以定製最少12人至200人的工作坊。只要具有足夠的桌子和椅子的空間或房間,我們都能夠在那裡舉行。

 

14. 這些微型森林可以維持多久?

所有植物均有生命週期,花開花落,枯落的植物會滋養微型森林。而在英國,最長壽命的微型森林已經66歲了!在植物的生命週期內,很建議隨意打開玻璃瓶,呼吸裡頭像草地或森林的氣味。如果氣味不再清新,這便需要再保養了。

 

15. 創作一個微型森林困難嗎?

我們可以教你!我們的媽媽設計師帶領的每個工作坊,為每位參加者提供一個充滿樂趣和放鬆的時間。我們的工作坊運用了草月流日本藝術的一些背景知識,為你打造一個創造屬於自己的微型森林的機會!

 

16. 我可以自攜玻璃瓶參與工作坊嗎?

感謝您的環保理念! 但由於並非所有容器都適合用於製作微型森林,請先拍攝照片並發送給我們查看,電郵hello@microforests.com或Whatsapp 至 5543-2568也可。

 

17. 我如何預約私人工作坊?

只需兩人或以上,我們都很高興為你舉辦私人工作坊。 私人工作坊的最低消費為800元。 歡迎您聯繫我們5543-2568了解更多詳情!

Share...Share on FacebookPin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

1. Why should I choose MicroForests over a local competitor?

MicroForests is different from any local competitors since it is first and foremost a social enterprise. Our mission is to empower “stay-at-home-moms” by teaching them a floral art skill so that they can become more self-sufficient. Doing so, we attempt to bridge the gap between the varying social classes, and also empower these moms that have been fighting social inequality in their daily lives.

Apart from our social mission, our products are of very high quality as well! Our plants are all imported, and our MicroForests designs are all handmade, one-of-a-kind and inspired by the Sogestu School of Japanese Floral Art.

2. How often do I have to water the Microforests?

Open-system: water once or twice a week, depending on the weather and humidity.

Closed-system: there’s no need to water it at all! The closed system creates a self-sustaining ecosystem. As long as there is adequate light, the water inside will cycle, and the plant photosynthesis will provide nutrients.

3. Who will be running the workshops?

The Mothers! All the Mothers that are running the workshops are proud graduates of our Life Transformation Program, and are certified terrarium designers. Attending one of our workshops is a great way to see our MicroForests mission in action.

4. Do we kill the plants we use?

Don’t worry. Whether it’s your own design or our design, we have a MicroForests artwork that meets your needs. By picking the right type of plants and mosses for your MicroForests artwork, it means that they can be designed to survive under very little water or lots of water. You can water them once a week and they will be fine!

5. Will my MicroForests attract flies and mosquitoes?

Our MicroForests feature a base foundation of sand and chalk to soak up the moisture so it is slowly released after time. Unless you turn the MicroForests into a MicroSwamp, there should be no issues with mosquitos or flies.

6. There is a small fruit fly in my MicroForests artwork! What do I do?

It looks like this fruit fly is an immigrant from Holland, where the plants are imported from! Since all our plants are organic and pesticide-free, there may be a small chance that there were some fruit fly eggs in the plants. Just open the lid of your container and let the fruit fly out to tour around in Hong Kong. It will not affect your plants.

7. It looks like my plants are wilting. Is this normal?

If the plants are starting to wilt, it means that it is too humid inside. All you need to do is open the container for some ventilation.

8. My plants are molding. What do I do?

If the plants are molding, this is a rare occurrence! Only 2% of the imported plants will have this type of bacteria. However, there is a small chance it could happen because all our plants are organic and pesticide-free. Take a picture and send it to us at hello@microforests.com or Whatsapp to 5543-2568 for further inspection.

9. I can only see the water droplets in the container. What do I do?

This is a good sign – it shows that the ecosystem is working. Each closed system artwork is like our earth, where it maintains moisture inside. The plants have their own photosynthesis cycle and releases vapor which turns into condensation as a water source for the plants. If you want to appreciate the artwork inside, you can always open the container and wipe off the water droplets with a little bit of tissue or towel.

10.It looks like the plants are growing out of my container. What should I do?

Congratulations, you’ve been taking care of it so well, that they are growing out of their home! It may seem cruel, but you can trim the plants if you like. It will not affect the growth or the plants’ health.

11. I saw these little turtles in the market. Can I put one in and make it into a turtle ecosystem?

Although cute, not recommended. We played around with this idea, and the MicroForests was all eaten in one week. If you like to make it a home for some critters, we suggest you place some inanimate critters for decorations, but definitely no live ones.

12. I will be gone for a while on a trip. Is this going to end up like my cactus after I come back?

MicroForests only need watering once a week. If you are going to be gone for a long time, we suggest watering it, and then sealing the top with some cling film. This will create a ‘closed ecosystem’ in which the water will remain in the MicroForests and not evaporate.

13. Could these workshops be held at different locations?

Yes, our team will go wherever you want the workshop to be held. As long as it is a space that has ample table and chair room for the DIY-aspect of the workshop, we will be able to host it there.

14. How long do these Microforests last?

In England, the longest life a MicroForests had was 66 years! Feel free to take a whiff out of the terrarium and it should smell fresh, like grass or a forest. If it no longer smells fresh, it will need some upkeep.

15. Is it hard to make a MicroForestS?

We can definitely teach you! Our Mother Designers lead each workshop and they are a fun and relaxing time for both females and males alike. Our workshops all include some background on the Japanese art of Sogetsu and then you will have your own chance to DIY!

16. Can I bring my own containers in the workshop?

Thanks for your environmentally friendly idea! Since not all containers are suitable for creating a MicroForests Artwork, please take a picture and send it to us for review at hello@microforests.com or Whatsapp to 5543-2568.

17. How I can bespoke a private workshop?

We are happy to hold a private workshop for a minimum of two. The minimum charge for a workshop is $800. We welcome you to to contact us at 5543-2568 for more details!

Share...Share on FacebookPin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+